Hello world indeed!

I feel really well this morning… although I am not happy about what has been said on the AM show on the local ABC radio. This is not a new phenomenon as my family will attest.

Greg Combet maintains that “everyone in Australia knows we have to have a carbon tax”. I am not so sure he is right. But then I’m biased – I subscribe to WUWT and obviously am in the dreaded “sceptics” camp… but more on that later. Tony Abbot won’t give a straight answer on whether he would repeal a carbon tax if the coalition won the next election. This lack of transparency doesn’t impress me. Tony Windsor is sitting on the fence with this one at the moment. I am very suspicious of the precautionary principle as applied to climate science Tony W., and as my local member I would like you to read WUWT without prejudice. Skip the odd ratbag comment that one finds on all blogs – you will find many of the commenters are thoughtful and considerate scientists. Please make a firm decision so that I can make a voting choice for the next election. You stated that we won’t know the effect of CO2 emissions in our lifetimes – I disagree. If (as some scientists are predicting) the earth is going into a cooling phase, I predict we will know within the next 5 to 10 years.

Personal responsibility.

This is one of the key thoughts in my mind and has been for a while. Is this the underlying problem of the age? That there are too many people who rely on others to fix things for them. I know I have been in this camp, particularly concerning my health. Having had a triple coronary bypass 15 years ago – it was definitely the doctors that had control of this process and I thank them for it. However, I am now very concerned about taking chemicals in the form of “cholesterol lowering” drugs into my body. They do not make me feel well. I stopped taking them again a couple of weeks ago… who knows for how long?

I have heard Sally Fallon Morell speak on a DVD that someone gave me recently and this has created some doubt in my mind. I grew up drinking fresh milk from a cow milked by my father who lived to 80 years and died of congestive heart failure. Consequently I now have a history of heart disease in my family!

Some of the things Sally Fallon said in that talk resonated strongly in my psyche. Eat natural food. Butter is very good for you (vitamin K2?). Drink lots of milk, eat eggs, and animal fat is not poisonous (like CO2? :-)). This made me think a bit about the whole problem. What worried me most was the accusations she made about how “the science” had been manipulated and distorted. This really resonated with me because I have been reading a lot about climate science lately and I am really concerned about that also.

Arding is one of the most pleasant places in the world to live. It is conducive of thoughtful contemplation of all sorts of issues. I used to think of myself as a problem solver. I like to think I did some of that succesfully in my career working for 30 years at a university. Maybe I’m fooling myself – who knows? Still, one of my sons said; “why don’t you try and make a positive contribution to the debate on some of these issues?” so here goes.

I have been very impressed by the way in which Anthony Watts has generally conducted his blog on Whats Up with That, so I will attempt to use this as the guiding principle for moderating any discussion that might occur here.

In the future I will be talking about outdoor activities, health, working in a Men’s Shed, computers, geocaching, building CNC routing machines, building aeroplanes (electric models and ones for people to fly in), renewable energy, wind generators, time, theories of the nature of energy, matter and the universe, the human condition, religion… all things that interest me and may interest a few others.

Happy Days!

James Reid

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world indeed!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

